See Sister Learn From A Kidney Infection

So I know this blog has been a lot more Susanna-full since I had Mac. And while I know I needed time ‘off’ post-baby, I had not intended for Zuni to have to bear the load for so long. But just as I was really getting back into the swing of things about three weeks ago, I got a kidney infection.

It started with a fever of over 104 degrees. I also had back pain and uncontrollable chills/ shaking. The doc gave me an antibiotic but it “wasn’t the ideal choice for a kidney infections” because I am breastfeeding and it would have been bad for Mac.

Turns out it wasn’t really effective for me at all but it took a week to figure that out and get things under control. Meanwhile, every time I’d stop taking ibuprofen, my temp would skyrocket and I’d be in pain. And while the infection was taking it’s toll on my body, I was on bed rest. This was all so very very no bueno.

Finally I got the right antibiotic and I got to get out of bed! Freedom! And even though it was wretched, through this ordeal I learned a few things…

DSC_0212Edited

1) My husband is awesome. Okay so I already knew that one. Would I have married a dud?! But he went above and beyond the call of duty taking care of the kids, cleaning the house, cooking, doing laundry, etc. And he even skipped a few classes so I wouldn’t have to get out of bed when there was no one else to help. That’s not really something you do when you are getting your doctorate! I could feel his stress level rising as I know he had lots of school work to get done but he never rushed me to get better to alleviate his over-full schedule. Thank you hubby!

2)There are a lot of other people who really love me. Whenever you have a baby people are always so tangibly helpful that it’s easy to see/ feel how you are loved. Having just experienced this, it was amazing to see them all rise up and help me again!

Both my parents and my in-laws and even a friend took the girls for playdates and overnights so I could focus on resting. The other moms in our carpool covered me again. My kids were sweet and tried to play quietly and not bug me too much when I needed to rest. Families from church brought us meals. I even had an introverted friend offer to come over and chat because she knew that as an extrovert I would be going out of my mind (which I was).

Most importantly, my friend Lauren’s husband is a physician and when I couldn’t get the answers I needed from my doctor, he chatted with me on the phone to alleviate my fears. It was incredibly comforting to have a knowledgable resource to reach out to. He was the one who helped me get the correct antibiotic and I am so incredibly grateful!

Maybe if this was my bedroom the white would have been more soothing...

Maybe if this was my bedroom the white would have been more soothing…

3. I really need to paint the walls in my bedroom. Okay so I already knew this one too. But after sitting in my bed for a week looking at my white sheets and white duvet cover and our white wardrobe and my white desk and the windows with white curtains, I realized how horrible it is that I have never painted the walls to offer some much needed contrast. Must happen soon.

psalm23-darker

4. I am so glad I set the 35 Before 35 goal of reading through the Bible in 6 months. This gave me an excellent activity to do while stuck in bed. And I was so encouraged by the Psalms I read. God is great and so is his word!

I have a disposable one of these that I keep refilling and refilling and refilling...

I have a disposable one of these that I keep refilling and refilling and refilling…

5. Water is my new BFF. The one thing I was told by every single doctor/ nurse/ family member/ whoever I spoke to was to drink a ton of fluids. So I did. It was most water that I drank and man did it do me right! I am hoping to keep up this drinking habit.

DSC_0266

6. Mac is awesome. Although at times it was literally painful to care for him while caring for myself, I have to say, I enjoyed having my littlest little there to hang out with me. Because I couldn’t do much of anything else, I got the chance to observe him and note his little quirks. Like the fact that he doesn’t like to eat as much as my other babies. He cannot nurse and then lay down for bed – he must burp or he spits up. He has funny pointy-ish ears. He hates having a wet diaper just as much as a dirty one. And he’s totally adorable. Without my life screeching to a halt, it would have taken me a lot longer to realize some of these things.

71763_1282736894191_420_300

7. I actually like doing housework. Well, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration. Perhaps I should say I like my role of homemaker and I want to be able to do it. Being stuck in bed was extra miserable because I could see the chores piling up. I felt horribly guilty and frustrated knowing that my jobs were having to be done by someone else. And for perhaps the first time in my life, I wanted to do them. I’m sure I’ll get quite the chuckle over this when I read it again on a crazy work-filled day, but I am so happy to be back doing the things that I am called (yes, I believe that running this home is my calling) to do. Tedious and mundane as housework and mothering little ones can be, I like to be the one taking care of our home and our kids. It’s good to be back in my stay-at-home-mom role again.

Along with this, I can say it gave me a glimpse into the world of the chronically ill. I know several people whose lives are filled with pain or fatigue that prevents them from doing what they want to do. Where I only had to suffer for a week and a half, they never get the chance to recover and go back to being normal. How awful that must be. I’m not sure how I can reach out and help them, but having this experience made me anxious to do something. I am certainly praying for them more than I did before.

So there you have it. The lemonade I made from the lemons of a kidney infection. Hmmm… That sounded better in my head.

2 thoughts on “See Sister Learn From A Kidney Infection

  1. Melanie Brockman says:

    Glad that chapter is over and that it turned out to have some positive points!

  2. Julie says:

    I feel ya…I dropped a wooden pallet on my foot at work earlier this week. Because I’m not good at taking care of myself I’ve been on it too much and it’s still swollen, so now I’m on crutches. Good for you that you made sure to take care of yourself so you can take care of everyone else!

Leave a Reply

