See Sister Say “Happy Birthday, Rachel!”

Today is the day of Rachel’s birth. That means this funny, caring, super awesome girl is another year older and another year cooler.

photo

Rachel is indeed one super cool older sister.

For the record, Bethany and Sarah are also super cool. Credit where credit is due: I am not lacking in cool older sisters.

four girls

But as Rachel explained on our About Page, she and I have been special partners-in-crime pretty much from the moment I arrived on the scene.

baby

Judging by this picture, she was pretty thrilled to have me in the mix, and I’ve never felt like her happiness in having me around is any less than it was then.

With four years between us, Rachel could easily have found me an annoying nuisance as we grew up. Instead, she was always happy to have me around. She let me hang out with her and her friends pretty much all the time. She drove me all over the place once she had a license; took me to see cool movies; taught me the harmony to Indigo Girls songs; let me tag along to high school parties, and so much more.

And before any of that, she taught me how to work a pink  hip-ruffled one-piece swimsuit.

beach

Sure, she wasn’t always super duper cool. There were the times that she passive-agressively walked across my trundle bed in the mornings when I was still going to afternoon kindergarten and she had to be up and ready for school before me. Or when she tormented me as we went to bed at night by asking “How was your day, Zuni?” and then snapping “Shut up! I’m trying to sleep!” when I started to answer. But hey, it’s my own fault that I fell for that more than once.

bday party

Proof that she let me hang with the cool older girls.

Growing up, I basically thought Rachel was the greatest, and I wanted to be just like her. While these days our lives are pretty different (that’s the point of this blog, isn’t it?), I still think she’s pretty darn great. She’s an amazing mom to (almost) four crazy cute kids; she’s driven and committed to growing her Stella & Dot business; she’s a loving, supportive wife to an insanely busy husband; she’s a godly Christian woman; and she’s as hilarious and goofy as she’s ever been.

I’m so happy she deemed me cool enough to be her sidekick from an early age, and I’m so blessed to be able to say she’s not just a big sister but a best friend. Thank goodness we live in this day and age where the internet and Skype and blogs and iPhones make living oceans apart much easier to handle. Otherwise, I don’t know how I’d cope being so far away from my partner-in-crime.

bike

Sooooo, Happy Birthday, Rachel! I love you  lots and lots and lots! Hope your birthday has been amazing and that whatever presents you got today, the people who gave them to you were more excited than your sisters and your father appear to have been when you got a new bike.

One thought on “See Sister Say “Happy Birthday, Rachel!”

  1. Melanie Brockman says:

    Re the last picture. I think everyone was hungry and tired from the magical mystery tour aspect of Rachel receiving this surprise. Loved the stroll down Memory Lane.

Leave a Reply

