See Sister Enjoy “Positive Moves”

You know when you read about something or learn a new word and then you subsequently start hearing about or seeing that thing/word everywhere? Is there a term for that phenomenon? Well, whether there is or isn’t, I’ve been experiencing it lately with Angela Lansbury.

Granted, she’s not something new. It’s not as if I’ve only just learned about the existence of Angela Lansbury. I mean EVERYONE knows about Murder, She Wrote (classic). And she holds a special place in my heart as the voice of Mrs. Potts in Beauty and the Beast (again: classic). And I don’t even need to mention Bedknobs and Broomsticks (classic), do I? So she’s not a new discovery, but she has been popping up all over the place lately.

First: Murder, She Wrote is set to be re-booted on NBC, and Angela thinks it’s a bad idea. Too right, Angela – too right.

Second: she just received an honorary Oscar for her 70 year career.

lansbury

Source: Awards Daily

Third: I randomly got a song from Sweeney Todd stuck in my head the other day (I don’t know…it was weird), which prompted me to listen to the original Broadway recording of “A Little Priest” featuring none other than Angela herself.

Fourth: She’s going to be appearing in a new West End production of Blithe Spirit next year. My American friend, Alicia, is coming over and plans to see it (sadly, on a night that I can’t go).

Anyways, this post isn’t really about fangirling over Angela Lansbury. Though from the above, it’d be easy to understand why one might do just that: she’s basically a living legend. No, this post is about sharing with you all what set off this current Angela-Lansbury-is-EVERYWHERE trend in my brain (other than the fact that she actually is everywhere these days – I mean, she’s pretty busy for an 88-year-old).

But the real catalyst for my current Lansbury obsession is the following video, sent to me by a colleague before I read any of the news above or started humming songs from Sweeney Todd:

Turns out Angela released a special fitness and well-being video (and book!) in 1988 entitled Positive Moves. Clearly, the author of this YouTube video edited it down to the best parts for our enjoyment. And I couldn’t be happier about that. I’ve watched it more times than I should admit, and I find something new to love every time. I hope it brings you as much joy as it’s brought me. And if anyone has seen the full video or – even better – owns it, please let me know IMMEDIATELY.

Happy Wednesday, folks! Now excuse me, I need to practice my “on land swimming” before waxing my car.

7 thoughts on “See Sister Enjoy “Positive Moves”

  1. fixfabulous says:

    LOVED this post! Lou said the bath part was really funny.

    You forgot to mention Angela’s role in ‘National Velvet’ (CLASSIC!!!).

    • zuni says:

      Ah, totally! National Velvet!!!

      I hope Louisa was taking notes, so that she can be sure to present herself as “a woman of loveliness and dignity” later in life.

  2. Sarah says:

    Nice one. You know I love an eBay challenge.

    I think she was dancing in the same courtyard where Eponine warned Marius and Cosette that her father was coming.

  3. Katie says:

    Fab. I think you all should make up a rhythmic dance for Christmas this year. Find some of those awesome elastic-belted peach jump suits too.

  4. Megan says:

    Oh. My. Goodness. I love that so much. The link to the video looked like sausage stuffing. But it was so much better.

Leave a Reply

